Historic Civil Engineering Landmarks in California

American Society of Civil Engineers
Region 9

American Society of Civil Engineers Region 9 consists of four Sections covering the State of California; the San Diego Section,  Los Angeles Section,  San Francisco Section, and  Sacramento Section.

Each Section is comprised of several Branches, except the San Diego Section, which has only one Branch, in which are located a number of Historic Civil Engineering Landmarks, some of which are designated as National landmarks , and others that are designated as Regional or Local landmarks.

This web page links to Section websites containing links to Branch websites on which each landmark is documented, along with articles of general interest about civil engineering projects and the civil engineers who contributed to their development.

Display an Interactive Map of All Sections and Branches
Interactive Map

Links to Websites Relating to Historic Preservation

ASCE Landmark Program
ASCE Policy Statement 463
California Office of Historic Preservation
National Register of Historic Places
National Park Service Heritage Documentation Programs
U.S. General Service Administration Historic Preservation​​​
Historic American Engineering Record

About ASCE Region 9 image

San Diego Section

The San Diego Section covers San Diego and Imperial Counties. Imperial County is its only Branch. Currently, the Section has two National Historic Civil Engineering Landmarks; the Sweetwater Dam in San Diego County, and the All-American Canal in Imperial County (not yet included in the ASCE landmarks database.)

Learn More

Los Angeles Section

The Los Angeles Section has seven Branches over a ten-county area. Extending from the Pacific Ocean on the west to the Arizona-Nevada state lines on the east, it abuts the San Diego Section on its southern boundary. The L.A. Section currently has the following five National Historic Civil Engineering Landmarks: Colorado River Aqueduct, Arroyo Seco Parkway, Tehachapi Pass Railroad Line, First Owens River-Los Angeles Aqueduct, and theTustin Blimp Hangars.

Learn More

San Francisco Section

Extending from the California-Oregon border to the Central Valley area of the state, the San Francisco Section includes the coastal and adjacent counties from Del Norte County in the north to Monterey County in the south, and abuts the Los Angeles Section at the San Luis Obispo, Kern, Inyo, and Mono county lines. The Section is home to three National Historic Civil Engineering Landmarks; the Golden Gate Bridge, San Francisco-Oakland Bay Bridge, and the Alvord Lake Bridge.

Learn More

Sacramento Section

Covering 24 counties in the northeast sector of the state, the Sacramento Section is divided into four Branches, and has the following five National Historic Civil Engineering Landmarks: the Central Pacific Railroad, Folsom Hydroelectric Power System, Pelton Impulse Water Wheel, Bidwell Bar Suspension Bridge, and the Bridgeport Covered Bridge.

Learn More
Welcome to the ASCE Region 9 Historic Landmarks  Forum!

Here you can suggest changes to the website that you would like to see; post links to sites with additional information about existing landmarks, and submit proposals for the nomination of projects to be designated as local, regional, or national historic civil engineering landmarks in any of
the Region 9 Sections.

Morris Dam - National Historic Civil Engineering Landmark

Autobiography of Irving Sherman, Civil Engineer

Nomination of Route 66 as a National Historic Civil Engineering Landmark

Re-inactment in 1913 of the Founding of the Texas Section (Video)


All-American Canal Plaque-unveiling Ceremony (Video)


Founding of the Los Angeles Section

John D. Galloway, Civil Engineer

The Colorado Street Bridge in Pasadena

Founding of ASCE Region 9 - Roster of 2005-6

The Pelton Impulse Water Wheel

Lower Crystal Springs Dam Nomination As A National Historic Civil Engineering Landmark

California Water Resources History & The Central Valley Project's First 75 Years

2005 Nomination of Sweetwater Dam as National Historic Civil Engineering Landmark

Los Angeles Section Archives

A Few Past Leaders of the Los Angeles Section

The Outstanding CE Career of Michael O'Shaughnessy (1864-1934) in San Francisco

1930 Dedication of the Theodore Dehone Judah Monument

Read Online​​​

Caltrans Quarter Century Club

U.S. Naval Ordnance Ballistic Missile Test Station at Morris Dam in World War 2

Read Online​​​

Perspectives in Civil Engineering Commemorating the 150th Anniversary of ASCE

100 Years of Embankment Design and Construction in the U.S. Bureau of Reclamation

Read Online​​​

Hoover Dam and the Evolution of Uplift Theory

Read Online​​​

Historic Civil Engineering Books and References

Display List​​​

Joe Biden on Infrastructure

Los Angeles Section Life Member Biographies

A Man, A Dam and A Disaster: Mulholland and the St. Francis Dam by J. David Rogers

Read Online​​​

"Civil Engineers Building a Better World" - a Book by The Orange County Branch Celebrating ASCE's 150th Anniversary in 2002

An Annotated Bibliography of Selected Books, Compact Disks and Videotapes on the History and Heritage of Civil Engineering by David R. Gilbert


Arroyo Seco Parkway - California's First Freeway